Raw Brownies with a Twist

Every so often I come across a recipe that inspires me to do something different. I stray from the tried-and-tested recipe completely to give my own recipe a try. After making the raw brownies with avocado, dates, pecans and of course chocolate, I decided that I wanted to try making a different version of raw brownies. I loved the consistency from the sticky dates and crunchy pecans, but I wasn’t too sure about the flavor from the avocado.

To change it up but keep a similar consistency, I thought of ingredients of similar texture to the original ingredients. Banana replaced avocado, dried apricots replaced dates, walnuts replaced pecans and the chocolate stayed the same! Since I was trying something new and just wanted to get the ratios right, I made a small portion.

~ 1/2 banana
~ 7 dried apricots
~ 1/3 cup walnuts
~ 2 tbsp cocoa powder

1. In a food processor, mix all base ingredients.
2. Press down the mixture of base ingredients in a bowl.
3. Refrigerate at least 2 hours.

While the ingredients created a slightly different consistency, overall I liked the flavor of the raw brownies with a twist more. Anything with banana flavor is going to lure me in. If I were to try the recipe again, I would use dates instead of apricots because the apricots were too dry and didn’t have the adhesive sticky component as well as the sweetness that the dates added to the original recipe.

What do you think of the raw brownies with a twist? What ingredients would you try if you created your own version? Share in the comments section!

Leave a Reply

